My 5 Most Anticipated Movies of 2011

3 12 2010

 

Daniel Craig is horrible at being Amish.

As the weather begins to turn cold, the stores begin to shove bargains and adverts down our throats, and my mother begins to weep every time the song “Christmas Shoes” plays, I begin to look towards next year. While it’s nice to think about graduation and my last few months at home before heading off to college, there are also a lot of movies that have popped up on my radar. This is a good thing, since outside of the artsy masterpiece Inception, and fun little popcorn flicks like The Other Guys, The A-Team, and Scott Pilgrim, 2010 has been a pretty lackluster year for the silver screen.

Anyways, it was a little harder than I expected to whittle down a list of five films that look worth the price of admission, especially considering that it’s very easy to make an epic trailer out of a mediocre movie. Anyways, 2011 looks to haveeverything a movie geek could want, including aliens, wizards, Bill Clinton cameos, and stoner knights. Follow me after the jump for trailers and thoughts on some of the upcoming movies of 2011.

5. Your Highness: The guys that gave us the greatest/only stoner-action-comedy of our time in Pineapple Express are back with what should be an entertaining stoner-action-fantasy-comedy film in Your Highness. James Franco and Danny McBride team up with David Gordon Green for the second time on the big screen, and this time the two play goofy princes who go on a quest to save Franco’s girlfriend (Zooey Deschanel) with the help of Natalie Portman. This looks like the safest bet for laughs so far next year, outside of The Hangover 2.


4. Sucker Punch: When I saw Inception, one of my first thoughts leaving the movie was “It was a really good movie, but those characters had horrible imaginations.” I’ve always been sort of a daydreamer, and even if those dreams had to be perfectly constructed for extraction, couldn’t there be at least one robot ninja or something? Anyways, Zack Snyder (300, Watchmen) is answering all of my prayers with Sucker Punch, in which a band of suspiciously attractive chicks attempt to escape from an asylum. In some way or another, a dream world with dinosaurs, robots, Nazis, dragons, ect. comes into play. There’s no way in hell I’m not seeing this movie.

3. Battle: Los Angeles: [Insert Rage Against the Machine joke here.] Not even my annoyance over the fact that Michelle Rodriguez always seems to play a tough girl badly (75% of the time while wearing an eyepatch) in every movie she’s in can ruin my hopeful excitement over Battle: Los Angeles. Sure, it may just boil down to be a loud action movie with stunning visuals and Aaron Eckhart’s chin, but right now I’m giving it the awesome trailer treatment. Also, it couldn’t possibly be as bad as Skyline. “A GUN? REALLY?!?!”


2. Cowboys and Aliens: Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford team up to fight aliens with their ragtag band of cowboys. If Jon Favreau wasn’t directing, I may have been a little less optimistic about it, but the man has proven he can make some pretty good flicks. Favreau’s come a long way from being that awkward guy in Rudy.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2: Still haven’t seen Part 1! Anyways, the quest for more money finally ends this Summer, and this time I’ll actually go on opening night and dressing up. I’ll probably go as Dobby’s corpse. Also, frankly, I’m glad this series is about to end. Sure, the series made some big improvements after the 3rd film, but I’m ready to get this over with. I’m also ready to see if any of those kids ever appears in a big budget movie ever again.

The Almost But Not Quites: Captain America, Rango, Super 8, The Hangover: Part 2

Any inexcusable omits? Let me have it!

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 12 2010
Craig
3 12 2010
Matt Suppes

Yeah, I can’t see a Terrence Malick film with Brad Pitt and Sean Penn being anything but good.

Leave a Reply

