2011 Best Picture Nominees

27 02 2011

Yesterday, at 10:00 AM, I decided that watching all 10 of the nominees for Best Picture was a much better plan than like, sleeping or something foolish like that. Anyway. I sat for 24 hours and watched what are theoretically the 10 best films released this year. Now after roughly three hours of sleep I’ll see what I can yell angrily about them.

Toy Story 3:

Oh my god this movie was adorable. People had been telling me I should be wary of crying. I didn’t cry, but I could definitely understand the need to. Many, many sad parts in this movie. But I mean wow. It was really good.

127 Hours:

Now this was a quality film. I like when you can make a good film with only one character. Acting against yourself is something not a lot of people can do well. James Franco does it phenomenally.

The Kids Are All Right:

Lesbians! This movie reminded me of Little Miss Sunshine in a way…but then it didn’t. A very character driven movie, in which I actually felt something for the characters. That’s always important.

True Grit:

Okay I really, really, really, really, really liked this movie. Like, a lot. Everyone did a really good job, especially Hailee Steinfeld, who should absolutely win the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress.

The Fighter:

I liked this movie a lot. Then Christian Bale’s character became less involved. I did not like it as much after this, but Mark Wahlberg can never be not interesting.

Winter’s Bone:

Glad this movie upholds our strong Missouri values. This was probably one of the most sparse movies I’ve seen in some time, and it seemed to me like it was made in the 60’s for some reason. They weren’t telling you the plot every three seconds. You were just watching this girl try to find her father.

Black Swan:

Surely I’ve already discussed the wonder that is Black Swan. My third time seeing it was no less disconcerting. Natalie Portman will win Best Actress or heads will roll.

Inception:

Inception played at 2:00 in the morning, likely in an attempt to keep us awake. I’m not sure if I understood it anymore the second time seeing it, or if there was anything more to understand. Why is this nominated?

The Social Network:

Jesse Eisenberg is going to escape typecasting, while Michael Cera is not. This, I fear, is how the world is going to go.  Not that this is undeserved. Eisenberg’s portrayal of Mark Zuckerberg is probably the most complicated character in any of the Best Picture nominees. Prove me wrong.

The King’s Speech:

Blah blah blah British people obviously made to win oscars oscar bait shut up. THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE. GEOFFERY RUSH DESERVES ALL THE AWARDS.


Actions

Information

2 responses

27 02 2011
Pre-Oscars Movie Blitz (Best Picture) « About Writing – The Personal Blog of Pace J Miller

[…] 2011 Best Picture Nominees (themediaexperiment.wordpress.com) […]

3 03 2011
Lizzi

Inception was nominated because it is a brilliant and creative film. Christopher Nolan is one of the best directors around today and he writes brilliant film. I have watched this movie four times now and I catch something new every time, which is another reason it is a marvelous film. Also, the shots are outstanding and interesting and the acting is spectacular.

Leave a comment