Dead Island: Quite Possibly the Most Epic Video Game Trailer Ever

16 02 2011

Let’s detail out a few quick facts here before I link the epic-ness you are about to see:

  1. I randomly saw a tweet by Entertainment Weekly for the trailer of this game. I was intrigued, as I hadn’t heard anything about it at all, and because I’m a sucker for zombie games, moves, et cetera.
  2. I was simply expecting a normal, action packed, heavy metal-filled zombie video game trailer.
  3. I saw the description “Lost-meets-The Walking Dead and suddenly became way more interested.

And then I watched the trailer…

Hoe. Lee. Shit.

Say it with me now: Hoe. Lee. Shit.

I know that trailers of any sort shouldn’t be used to judge an unreleased game or movie, but damn. I think it’s going to be pretty hard for me to not pick up a copy of this when the game comes out, especially if the game is story driven ala World War Z.

What’s more is that this is coming off of the trailer for the decade-late game Duke Nukem Forever, which had an equally entertaining trailer, albeit far less serious. What are we coming to in this world where people are making video game trailers amazingly artistic? In short, I have to play this game now.

[Sidenote: As far as movie trailers go so far this year, Battle: Los Angeles definitely takes the cake. Sure, there’s a good chance it can still be a lackluster movie, but it’s certainly not straightforwardly cheesy like Skyline.]

H/T to EW


Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2011
Encrazed Crafts

Oh yeah, bud. Hell fricken yeah. My cousin clue’d me into the trailer off IGN and I am still aglow in it’s aura of awesome. Can’t wait for more info off this bad boy. Survivalistic horror, procure on site weaponry and emphasis on ‘intimate combat’ where guns will be very sparce and ammo even more rare.

DO WANT.

Leave a comment